Webinar: National Approaches to Spectrum Sharing (17 June)
Jun 02, 2020 by Dugie Standeford

Blog

LocationGlobal
Tags5G mmWave, DSA, ESOA, Ofcom, Spectrum sharing, webinar

Spectrum sharing has seen intense policy activity in recent years and is unusual because approaches tend to be more country-specific than in most areas of spectrum policy. In this spectrum sharing webinar we examine some of those national approaches with a panel of expert speakers:

  • Martha Suarez, President of the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance
  • Philip Marnick, Ofcom Spectrum Group Director, UK
  • Dave Wright, President of the CBRS Alliance, USA
  • Jameson Dempsey, Government Affairs Counsel, Loon, USA
  • Patrick Van Niftrik, EMEA Satellite Operator’s Association

 

The webinar will focus on three key topics:

  • The Citizens Broadband Radio Service in 3.5 GHz
    This is launching in the US, but could it work elsewhere?
  • UK: Sharing in existing mobile bands
    Ofcom is taking a unique approach, sharing in several mobile bands: 3.8-4.2 MHz, 1800 MHz and 2300 MHz, and part of 26 GHz. Why have they chosen this policy?
  • Sharing in the mmWave bands.
    As  mmWave is released for 5G regulators are debating how best to share these low-propagation bands, both with other terrestrial operators and HAPS companies like Loon.

 

The National approaches to Spectrum Sharing webinar starts at 3 pm BST (4 pm CET; 10 am EDT) on Wed 17 June. Register here!

We will be holding a further webinar to discuss spectrum sharing in 6 GHz on July 15. More details on that to follow.