Webinar Mon 12 Oct: How can spectrum policy help the environment?
Oct 08, 2020 by PolicyTracker

Blog

LocationGlobal
TagsEricsson, greening spectrum policy, Tele2, webinar

This is the question which the Europe’s regulators in the RSPG and the wider ITU community is currently grappling with.

It is an area where policy is not yet fully formed so please join the debate in our free Greening Spectrum Policy webinar this coming Monday, 12 October, at 3 pm BST (4 pm CET; 10 am EDT).

You can register here or use priority registration for PolicyTracker paid subscribers.

One of the speakers is Ericsson’s Pernilla Bergmark, co-chair of the ITU’s group on climate change, which in February adopted a standard to help the ICT industry reduce carbon emissions to meet UN goals.

We will also hear from Erik Wottrich of Tele2, a company which has achieved carbon neutrality.

Is additional regulation needed to achieve sustainability in the wireless sector, or are the commercial benefits of reducing energy consumption sufficient incentive? Is the impact of spectrum policy necessarily a small part of a sector-wide environmental approach?

These issues and others will be addressed by Philip Laidler of telecoms consultancy STL Partners.

And we hope you will participate in the debate by registering here.