Blog

Spectrum Sharing in Asia webinar (19 August)

What's going on with spectrum sharing in Asia? Already there have been several exciting examples across the region to discuss, including China’s decision this year to license the 3.3 GHz band on a shared basis. Our speakers will look at whether the region will take its own distinct path. Included in the debate will be the future of the 6 GHz band. After all, if the decision is for an…
| Richard Handford
What's going on with spectrum sharing in Asia? Already there have been several exciting examples across the region to discuss, including China’s decision this year to license the 3.3 GHz band on a shared basis. Our speakers will look at whether the region will take its own distinct path. Included in the debate will be the future of the 6 GHz band. After all, if the decision is for an unlicensed band, rather than licensed IMT, then that is a form of sharing. South Korea recently opted for unlicensed 6 GHz, a boost for Wi-Fi’s supporters. Meanwhile the C-band is an example from Asia where coexistence between satellite and IMT has not been possible. Might sharing offer a solution in the future? What is the satellite industry’s view? The speakers are:
  • Je Myung Ryu is a senior digital development specialist at the World Bank (former DG of Radio Policy Bureau at the Korean Ministry of Science and ICT).
  • U.K. Srivastava is the principal advisor, network spectrum and licensing with TRAI, India’s telecoms regulator.
  • Tare Brisibe, Global Spectrum & Regulatory Policy (ESOA).
  • Martin Sims, Managing Director, PolicyTracker
The webinar will take place on Wednesday, 19 August at 4pm AEST,  11.30 am IST, 2 pm Singapore, 8 am CEST, 11 pm PDT You can register here  or use priority registration for PolicyTracker subscribers. At the links above you can also register for other forthcoming webinars.
Img Alt

Newsletter

Discover why hundreds of regulators and technology companies use our services

SUBSCRIBE
Comments
Regulators should prioritise social welfare, not infrastructure targets
Richard, thanks for amending the text...." by Nikolai Shienok
Feb 16, 2024
Regulators should prioritise social welfare, not infrastructure targets
Thanks for spotting this Nikolai. We've..." by Richard Haas
Feb 16, 2024
Regulators should prioritise social welfare, not infrastructure targets
“Cash auctions are harder to..." by Nikolai Shienok
Feb 16, 2024
European working group examines sharing options for upper 6 GHz band
The whole 6 GHz band has 1200 MHz and..." by Stefan Zehle
Feb 15, 2024
Dutch finalise decision on 450 MHz use
The RDI announced yesterday (January..." by Mirva Villa
Jan 23, 2024