New speakers added for EMF webinar on Wed 3 February
Jan 28, 2021 by PolicyTracker

Blog

TagsEMF, webinar

Reassuring the public about the safety of mobile networks has never been harder. The rise of social media has allowed those with health concerns to spread their message as never before, while the COVID-19 pandemic has provided a fertile breeding ground for conspiracy theories.

Next week’s webinar, EMF: getting the message across, will take a wide-ranging view of this issue.

Is the wireless industry as a whole taking the right approach? What is the best way of communicating a complex scientific message with foundations in several different disciplines? Is this a local problem or a national one? What are examples of good practice from around the world?

Two new speakers have joined the panel. We will be hearing from Nicky Preston of Vodafone New Zealand about her firm’s humorous social media campaign following a spate of arson attacks.

Martin Fenton from the UK regulator Ofcom will explain the measures it takes and how they are communicated.

The full line up is as follows:

  • Frank de Vocht, Professor in epidemiology and public health, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol.
  • Kyriakos Baxevanidis, deputy head of the spectrum policy unit at CNECT, European Commission.
  • Dr Mary Longhurst, a public relations and strategic communications expert who specialises in corporate social responsibility and sustainability communications.
  • Dr Jack Rowley, senior director for research & sustainability at mobile industry association the GSMA.
  • Martin Fenton, Director of Spectrum Analysis, UK regulator Ofcom
  • Nicky Preston, Vodafone NZ senior communications lead (pre-recorded)

Please join us for EMF: getting the message across on Wednesday 3 February 2021 at 3 pm GMT/4 pm CET/10 am EST.

Paid subscribers should use the priority registration form. Non-subscribers can also join by registering here.